Lisa Thomas New Music: The Head and the Heart

September 26, 2013 0 comments Open printer friendly version of this article Print Article

Let’s Be Still, the sophomore album from Seattle’s The Head And The Heart, will be released on Sub Pop Records October 15th. Rolling Stone, Entertainment Weekly and Buzzfeed have named the new album as one of the most anticipated records of the fall

Let’s Be Still follows the 2011 critically and commercially breakout self-titled debut, which has scanned nearly 280,000 copies to date in the US alone, and featured radio hit “Lost in My Mind” which claimed #1 on the AAA chart for three weeks, beating out the likes of Adele, Foster the People and the Red Hot Chili Peppers. The band has added 4 new tour dates in Vancouver BC, Oakland, Los Angeles and Denver to their headlining North American tour with support from Thao and the Get Down Stay Down as well as Quiet Life. Complete list of tour dates below.

Listen to the first single “Shake” off Let’s Be Still here.

Watch The Head and The Heart perform “Shake” on Late Night with Jimmy Fallon here.

More about The Head and The Heart
Virginia native Jonathan Russell and California transplant Josiah Johnson formed the core songwriting partnership of The Head and The Heart after meeting at an open mic night in 2010.  The band was rounded out by drummer Tyler Williams, keyboardist Kenny Hensley, vocalist/violinist Charity Rose Thielen and bassist Chris Zasche. That unbridled energy informed their debut album for hometown label Sub Pop, becoming one of the label’s best-selling debut releases. In a few short months The Head And The Heart went from playing open mic nights to selling out San Francisco’s Fillmore, Seattle’s Paramount Theatre, New York’s Terminal 5 and more.  

In addition to winning fans over in person through their live show, the band charmed audiences through performances on Conan, Jimmy Kimmel Live, Late Night with Jimmy Fallon, Late Show with David Letterman, and legendary Austin City Limits.  As NPR put it, the band has “…A natural knack for fortifying melancholic Americana sounds with the bright, powerful structures of pop songwriting…. exceptionally well-conceived and their execution nearly flawless…”

Slowly, but surely, ideas began to form for the band's second album, imbued with the experiences of traveling the world and cultivating a listenership with a deep connection to the music. Let’s Be Still is a snapshot of a band that didn't exist just four short years ago. The album was recorded at Seattle's Studio Litho with assistance from prior production collaborator Shawn Simmons. Later, the band traversed the country to mix the album in Bridgeport, Conn., with Peter Katis, revered for his work with bands such as The National, Interpol and the Swell Season

Let’s Be Still Pre-Order Information
Pre-order the album now at through the The Head and the Heart’s online store, Sub Pop, Amazon or iTunes.

The Head and The Heart On Tour
The Head and The Heart mailing list subscribers will have first access to the band's presale for these newly added dates starting tomorrow, Tuesday September 17th at 10am locally in each city. Sign up HERE for the band's mailing list in order to receive the password needed to access tickets first. Passwords will be sent out to the official mailing list end of day on September 16th, 2013.  Please make sure to sign up for the mailing list by 11:59pm pacific time to receive the password. The mailing list widget is available HERE.

10/21/13 Mon ASHEVILLE, NC TBA @ Orange Peel?10/22/13 Tue ST. LOUIS, MO @ The Pageant^?
10/25/13 Fri CHICAGO, IL @ Riviera Theatre *^ SOLD OUT?
10/26/13 Sat MINNEAPOLIS, MN @ First Avenue *^ SOLD OUT?
10/27/13 Sun MINNEAPOLIS, MN @ First Avenue *^?10/28/13 Mon MADISON, WI @ Orpheum *^
10/29/13 Tue ROYAL OAK, MI @ Royal Oak Music Theatre*^
10/31/13 Thu TORONTO, ON @ The Danforth Music Hall*^?
11/01/13 Fri BOSTON, MA @ Royale SOLD OUT?
11/02/13 Sat BOSTON, MA @ Royale SOLD OUT                ?
11/04/13 Mon WASHINGTON, DC @ 9:30 Club*^?
11/05/13 Tue NEW YORK, NY @ Terminal 5^?
11/06/13 Wed NEW YORK, NY @ Webster Hall SOLD OUT?
11/08/13 Fri PHILADELPHIA, PA @ Union Transfer*^?
11/09/13 Sat PHILADELPHIA, PA @ Union Transfer*^ SOLD OUT?
11/10/13 Sun RALEIGH, NC @ The Ritz Theatre*^?
11/12/13 Tue ATLANTA, GA  @ Buckhead Theatre*^ SOLD OUT?
11/13/13 Wed NEW ORLEANS, LA @ Tipitina's*^?
11/14/13 Thu HOUSTON, TX @ Warehouse Live Ballroom*^?
11/15/13 Fri DALLAS, TX @ South Side Ballroom^    ?
11/16/13 Sat AUSTIN, TX @ Stubb's BBQ^                  
11/17/13 Sun AUSTIN, TX  @ Stubb’s BBQ^
12/02/13 Mon VANCOUVER, BC @ The Commodore Ballroom
12/05/13 Thu OAKLAND, CA Fox Theater
12/07/13 Sat LOS ANGELES, CA @ The Wiltern
12/13/13 Fri DENVER, CO @ Ogden Theater
* With Thao and The Get Down Stay Down
^ With Quiet Life