Cultural Council Announces Board Membership 2012-2013

January 7, 2013 0 comments Open printer friendly version of this article Print Article

Jacksonville: The Cultural Council of Greater Jacksonville recently elected new members to serve on its Board of Directors and Executive Committee. Diane Brunet-Garcia, vice president and partner at Brunet-Garcia Advertising, has been elected to serve as the Chair for a one-year term beginning in fiscal year 2012-2013. The Cultural Council Board of Directors serves as the agency's governing and policy-making body. Join us after the jump for the rest of the new appointments and a full listing of the boards

New members of the Cultural Council Board of Directors are: Claudia Baker, Community Volunteer; Franklin Danley, Regions Bank; Chris Flagg, Flagg Design Studios; Lisa Goodrich, Community Volunteer; Karlin Housen, Citi; Steve Lovett, Ervin Lovett Miller; Susan Pelter, Susan Pelter Communications; and Steve Williams, Harbinger Sign.

The Cultural Council Executive Committee members are: Diane Brunet-Garcia, Chair, Jeanne Miller-Laffy, FSCJ, Incoming Chair; Ali Korman Shelton, Stellar, Immediate Past Chair and Cultural Service Grant Chair; Elaine Brown, Killashee Investments, Treasurer; Lisa Rinaman, Community Volunteer, Secretary; Ali Korman Shelton, Stellar, Cultural Service Grant Chair; David Engdahl, Sculptor, Innovation Chair; Abel Harding, First Citizens Bank, Advocacy Chair; Virginia Steiger, Community Volunteer, Art in Public Places Chair; Mary Ellen Smith, Community Volunteer, Fund Development Chair; Larry Wilson, DesignMind, Governance Chair; and Frank Watson, National Retail Corporation, Strategic Planning Chair.

The Board of Directors works with the staff to implement the Council’s strategic plan in support of its mission to champion the appreciation, relevance, and expression of art and culture.

Founded in 1971, the Cultural Council serves as the designated local arts agency for Duval County. The Council, a private nonprofit organization, administers both the Cultural Service Grant Program and the Art in Public Places Program on behalf of the City of Jacksonville. Additionally, the Council provides outreach, advocacy and support for area cultural organizations and individual artists.
A complete list of the Cultural Council Board of Directors is listed below:
Cultural Council Board of Directors 2012-2013

Executive Committee
Chair: Diane Brunet-Garcia, Brunet-Garcia Advertising
Incoming Chair: Jeanne Miller-Laffy, FSCJ
Immediate Past Chair: Ali Korman Shelton, Stellar
Treasurer: Elaine Brown, Killashee Investments
Secretary: Lisa Rinaman, Community Volunteer
Cultural Service Grant Chair: Ali Korman Shelton, Stellar
Innovation Chair: David Engdahl, Sculptor
Advocacy Chair: Abel Harding, First Citizens Bank
Art in Public Places Chair: Virginia Steiger, Community Volunteer
Governance Chair: Larry Wilson, DesignMind
Fund Development Chair: Mary Ellen Smith, Community Volunteer
Strategic Planning Chair: Frank Watson, National Retail Corporation
Board of Directors:
Claudia Baker, Community Volunteer
Cathy Chambers, JAXUSA Partnership
Brandon Choy, Tyco Integrated Security
Franklin Danley, Regions Bank
Chris Flagg, Flagg Design Studio
Lisa Goodrich, Community Volunteer
Karlin Housen, Citi
Kevin Holzendorf, Southern Strategy Group
Steve Lovett, Ervin Lovett Miller
Susan Pelter, Susan Pelter Communications
Tom Serwatka, University of North Florida
Penny Thompson, Shands Jacksonville
Sharon Wamble-King, Florida Blue
Steve Williams, Harbinger Sign
The Hon. Bill Bishop, Jacksonville City Council
Jessica Deal, Mayor’s Office, City of Jacksonville
Ann Baker (1937-2011)
Jacqueline Holmes
Helen Lane