Jacksonville not alone with Consolidation

December 14, 2012 7 comments Open printer friendly version of this article Print Article

Jacksonville is well known for its consolidation with Duval County in 1968. However, we're not alone. According to the National Association of Counties, there are a total of forty consolidated city-county governments across the United States. Here's the list.

1. Areas with governments legally designated as city-counties and operating primarily as cities:


City and borough of Anchorage
City and borough of Juneau
City and borough of Sitka
City and borough of Yakutat


City and county of San Francisco


City and county of Broomfield
City and county of Denver


City and county of Honolulu


Unified Government of Wyandotte County and City of Kansas City


Anaconda-Deer Lodge County
Butte-Silver Bow County

2. Areas designated as metropolitan governments and operating primarily as cities:


Hartsville and Trousdale County
Lynchburg and Moore County
Nashville and Davidson County

3. Areas having certain types of county offices, but as part of another government (city, township, special district, state):


County of Duval (City of Jacksonville)


County of Clarke (City of Athens)
County of Chattahoochee (City of Cusseta)
County of Echols (City of Statenville)
County of Greeley (City of Tribune)
County of Muscogee (City of Columbus)
County of Richmond (City of Augusta)
County of Quitman (City of Georgetown)
County of Webster (City of Preston)


County of Kalawao (State of Hawaii)


County of Marion (City of Indianapolis)


County of Jefferson (City of Louisville)
Lexington-Fayette Urban County


Parish of East Baton Rouge (City of Baton Rouge)
Parish of Lafayette (City of Lafayette)
Parish of Orleans (City of New Orleans)
Terrebonne Parish Consolidated Government


County of Nantucket (Town of Nantucket)
County of Suffolk (City of Boston)

New York

Counties of Bronx, Kings, New York, Queens, and Richmond (all part of the City of New York)


County of Philadelphia (City of Philadelphia)

4. Joining The List In 2014


County of Bibb (City of Macon)

Source: National Association of Counties. "City-County Consolidation Proposals."

Article by Ennis Davis