Author Topic: Do Covenants Trump Zoning?  (Read 5668 times)

mvp

Do Covenants Trump Zoning?
« on: April 25, 2022, 11:59:39 AM »
Need thoughts from land use experts here. If covenants restrict residential density to a greater degree that zoning, which prevails?

vicupstate

Re: Do Covenants Trump Zoning?
« Reply #1 on: April 25, 2022, 03:22:58 PM »
Need thoughts from land use experts here. If covenants restrict residential density to a greater degree that zoning, which prevails?

I'm not a lawyer or a planner but I would expect that neither could be violated, thus whichever is more restrictive would prevail. If zoning says 20 units per acre and covenants say 10 units per acre, then 10 units per acre would prevail because it violates neither rule. 
"The problem with quotes on the internet is you can never be certain they're authentic." - Abraham Lincoln

Charles Hunter

« Reply #2 on: April 25, 2022, 03:52:11 PM »

I'm not a lawyer or a planner but I would expect that neither could be violated, thus whichever is more restrictive would prevail. If zoning says 20 units per acre and covenants say 10 units per acre, then 10 units per acre would prevail because it violates neither rule. 

Spitballing while we wait for an expert ...  :)
But, in this example, would 15 units per acre be allowed? It is within the zoning limit, but violates the covenants.  [cue "Think" music]

fieldafm

• Editor
« Reply #3 on: April 25, 2022, 04:09:50 PM »

Generally, the more restrictive limit applies. 

Say for instance that zoning laws change for any RMD-1 property to allow for 8 units per acre (instead of 4 units per acre), or change to allow for an ADU by right.... but there is either a neighborhood covenant, a PUD or some type of historic easement that says 2 units per acre and no ADUs... then a change in the underlying zoning to a more intense use won't circumvent that existing covenant, PUD, easement, etc.