Lost Jacksonville: The Row

May 6, 2014 55 comments Open printer friendly version of this article Print Article

The Garden District in New Orleans has St. Charles Avenue, Monument Avenue graces Richmond's Fan District, and 3rd Street anchors Old Louisville. Today, Metro Jacksonville takes a step back in time to share the story of a similar residential district that no longer exists: The Row.



The Row Today


Riverside Avenue near Edison Street. In 1913, this was the location of several brothels.


Four residences fronting Riverside Avenue where demolished for the original construction of the Gilmore Street Bridge in the early 1950s.


Gilmore Street was renamed Peninsular Place after the Peninsular Life Insurance Company constructed their headquarters at the intersection. Peninsular's campus is now Fidelity Information Services.


The Riverside Inn Bed & Breakfast is located in one of two of The Row's remaining original residential structures.


1541 Riverside Avenue is one of two of The Row's original remaining residential structures.


This office building replaced the residence that served as the home of the Jacksonville Children's Museum. The museum relocated downtown and is now known as the Museum of Science and History (MOSH).


Cummer Museum of Art and Gardens is located on the site of the old Cummer residence.


Fidelity National Financial's parking lot was the site of Lubin Manufacturing Company's silent film production facility. It was here that Oliver Hardy would establish his acting career.

Article by Ennis Davis, AICP. Contact Ennis at edavis@moderncities.com


 PREV 1 2